Global Leadership Awards History

For 55 years, UNA-USA's Global Leadership Dinner has brought together policymakers, diplomats, UN supporters, business leaders, and celebrities to call attention to the vital role the UN plays in helping the global community advance peace, prosperity and justice and to honor individuals and corporations for their global leadership in advancing UN causes. In 2008, UNA-USA's 50th Annual Global Leadership Awards Dinner commemorated the half-way mark toward meeting the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) adopted at the UN's Millennium Summit in 2000. The MDGs represent the highest aspirations of humankind for a more peaceful, just, and prosperous world. In 1998, Ted Turner received UNA-USA's inaugural Champion for Global Change Award in recognition of his longstanding commitment to UNA-USA and the UN. During his acceptance speech, he announced his historic $1 billion pledge, resulting in the founding of the United Nations Foundation.

UNA-USA helps the UN help the world by participating in and furthering the UN's efforts around the world and by highlighting the dedicated efforts of other global citizens through its events and programming. Please join us as we recognize outstanding global leaders of today and help to educate the next generation of global citizens and inspire the leaders of tomorrow.

Past UNA-USA Honorees, 1998-2016, include:

President Barack Obama
, honored with the Champion for Global Change Award
Ertharin Cousin
, Executive Director of the World Food Programme
Walgreens Boots Alliance
, UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights to Freedom of Peaceful Assembly and of Association
Sony Pictures for the Angry Birds Happy Planet Campaign

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon
Hamdi Ulukaya
, Founder and CEO of Chobani
The Ebola Solidarity Trust Board at Africa Against Ebola
Dr. Ahmed Shaheed
, UN Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights in Iran
United Nations Free & Equal Campaign

Paul Polman
, CEO of Unilever, with the UN Foundation's highest honor, The Champion for Global Change Award, for his life-long personal commitment to sustainable development and his professional leadership in galvanizing the global community around the Post-2015 Development Agenda
Merck & Co., in recognition of their industry leadership and corporate commitment to global health and development
Valerie Amos, Under-Secretary-General and Emergency Relief Coordinator, Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs at the United Nations, for her diplomatic command of cross-sector global relief efforts in response to monumental humanitarian crises
Justice Michael Kirby, Chair of the Independent Commission of Inquiry on North Korea, with the Leo Nevas Human Rights Award
Rana Abdelhamid, honored with the Leo Nevas Youth Advocate for Human Rights Award for her efforts to raise awareness of the UN and human rights mechanisms, and her empowerment of young Muslim women across the U.S.
Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT) and Congressman Adam Kinzinger (R-IL) for their commitment to a strong American relationship with the United Nations

Malala Yousafzai
, the courageous Pakistani teenager who has overcome enormous challenges to speak out for girls education
Senator Timothy E. Wirth
, the UN Foundation’s Vice Chair and the person who turned Ted Turner’s vision for the UN Foundation into a reality
U.S. Ambassador to the UN Samantha Power
, who was honored for her fierce commitment to human rights
Frontline polio workers
, who are performing heroic work in protecting children from this crippling disease
GE Africa
, a leader in improving health care for women and children through the Secretary-General’s Every Woman Every Child movement
, the filmmakers who created Girl Rising

Johnson & Johnson
, a global leader in human health care
Paulo Sérgio Pinheiro
, Chair, International Commission of Inquiry for Syria
Marlow Svatek
, Leo Nevas Human Rights Young Advocate
, the entertainment industry's preeminent news organization
John C. Whitehead
, former chairman, United Nations Association of the United States
Dr. Kandeh K. Yumkella
, Director- General for the UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
Archbishop Desmond Tutu
, Nobel Peace Prize recipient

His Excellency Jens Stoltenberg
, Prime Minister of Norway
Asma Jahangir, President of the Supreme Court Bar Association and Chairperson, Human Rights Commission of Pakistan
Rex Tillerson, Chairman and CEO, ExxonMobil
Susana Malcorra, Under-Secretary-General for the Department of Field Support, United Nations
Linkin Park, Grammy Award-Winning Rock Band

The Honorable John F. Kerry, United States Senator
Simon Fuller, Creator and Producer, American Idol
Michel Sidibé, Executive Director, UNAIDS

Sheryl WuDunn
, Pulitzer Prize winning author
John C. Whitehead

(RED) ™
Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter

Queen Rania Al-Abdullah
Susan Arnold
Procter & Gamble

President William J. Clinton
Dean Kamen

Leonore Annenberg
Angelina Jolie

Peter G. Peterson and Joan Ganz Cooney
Oprah Winfrey

Henry A. McKinnell, Jr., PhD,
Pfizer Inc.
Alex Godwin Coutinho, M.D., M.P.H.
Sergio Vierra De Mello Presented Posthumously

Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor of New York City
Sir Paul McCartney and Heather Mills
Muhammad Ali, UN Messenger of Peace
Bill Gates and Melinda French Gates

Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland, Director-General, World Health Organization

James D. Wolfensohn, President, The World Bank, and The World Bank

Senator John. H Glenn

Kofi Annan, Secretary-General of the UN
Robert E. Rubin, Secretary of Treasury
The UN Foundation
1750 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20006

Tel: +1 202 887-9040
Fax: +1 202 887-9021

801 Second Avenue
9th Floor
New York, NY 10017

Tel: +1 212 697-3315
Fax: +1 212 697-3316

About Us
Contact Us
Leadership Dinner
Email Sign-up